Gallery

My Obsession with Markets

I have said it before, and I will say it again. I love going to the market. I love the smell of fruits, the colours of the products and people fascinate me.

While it’s an amazing and colourful place to take photos, you are also confronted with the country’s reality and the way people are struggling to make a living. Children work, they either help selling products or they offer shoppers to carry their bags in exchange for a few coins.

The following images are from a market known in Sucre (Bolivia) as: “Mercado Campesino”. The last word means: farmer. Most of the fresh produce arrives on trucks. It’s a large market spread out throughout different streets. You can find food, as well as furniture, electronics, cleaning supplies, clothing, you name it and it’s there.

